News for Aug. 22, 2006

World Soundtrack Award nominations announced

8/22/06, 11:35 am EST - Xoanon

From The nominees to the 2006 World Soundtrack Awards, to be handed out during the Flanders International Film Festival in Ghent, Belgium, on October 14, were revealed today. Dario Marianelli, Alberto Iglesias, James Newton Howard and Gustavo Santaolalla all received two nominations each.

Nominees in the category ”Soundtrack Composer of the Year”:
- Danny Elfman – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
- Alberto Iglesias – The Constant Gardener
- Dario Marianelli – Pride and Prejudice
- James Newton Howard – King Kong
- John Powell – Ice Age: The Meltdown

”Best Original Soundtrack of the Year”
- Brokeback Mountain - Gustavo Santaolalla
- King Kong - James Newton Howard
- Munich - John Williams
- Pride & Prejudice - Dario Marianelli
- The Constant Gardener - Alberto Iglesias